Roast chicken Jiko style

pic-5

Happy New Year!I have a good feeling about this year, and I am all about doing things differently this 2017. In that spirit of doing things differently, I tried out something different over the holiday period.

pic-2

I have always had this theory that what an oven can do, so can a jiko. So I figured I could try out that theory with chicken. I wasn’t quite sure how I’d do it, I went ahead and marinated the chicken the night before.

Marinade ingredients:

  • 2 tsp of honey
  • 2 tsp of Paprika
  • 2 tsp Garam masala
  • 2 tsp Pilau Masala
  • 1 onion
  • Coriander
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 3 tsp of soy sauce

pic-1

You can use whatever flavorful ingredients you have in your pantry.

Process:

  • Get your hands dirty and mix everything up.
  • Once your marinade is ready, take your chicken pieces and put them in the marinade. Rub the marinade on chicken thoroughly and ensure your chicken is well coated.
  • Once your chicken is completely coated, cover it and leave it over night in the fridge.

pic-3

pic-4

pic-7

I was confident about marinating the chicken, now roasting it was the tricky bit; I knew what to do in theory.

The roasting:

I learnt the hard way,(after a few chicken pieces were sacrificed) that your jiko should be at medium to low heat. At high heat, your chicken will only cook on the outside and get burnt faster.

pic-8

At a medium to low heat, place your grill on the jiko.

pic-12

Since I was doing this for the first time, I first put the chicken pieces at the centre and they got burnt, so I put the chicken pieces around the jiko and not at the centre. But if your heat is low, you can place your chicken evenly on the grill.

As long as the heat is at minimal, do not be in a rush to turn them.

pic-10

After 6 minutes or so, you can turn the pieces. A little heads up, the skin will stick on the grill when you flip them the first time.

Once you flip them, you can now relax a bit. After a while continue turning them, the colour will start to change and the aroma will soon follow.

Considering the chicken has been marinated, it won’t be as hard as your usual roasted chicken. It will still be soft on the inside and very juicy.

After 20 – 30 minutes on the grill, your chicken should be ready. You can always take a small piece and sample.

Not the best picture, I started indulging and forgot to take a proper pic.

Not the best picture, I started indulging and forgot to take a proper pic.

Aside from a few burnt pieces, I was impressed with the final results. The chicken was juicy on the inside, I could taste the flavours from the marinade, and the outside was just the right kind of crispy.

I did prove my theory that you don’t have to have an oven to roast a meal.

Go ahead and try this, and tell me how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

